Sunday Crepes

Being from Canada, I am used to having pancakes… waffles… crepes… that are all deserving of some delicious maple syrup. I always find it interesting to see what other countries use as a topping to their pancakes, waffles or crepes.

When I graduated, my now husband and I went on a 6 week trip to Vietnam and Cambodia – it was an amazing opportunity to get to know the Vietnamese and Cambodian culture and explore a whole new part of the world. Here’s a photo of one of the many beautiful structures we saw outside Siem Reap:

img_6141

Now, this post isn’t about my trip, but it is about some delicious crepes I had when I stayed at a bed and breakfast in Cambodia. These crepes used fresh lime juice and sugar as a topping! I’ll admit, I was a little hesitant about the deliciousness – um, where’s the maple syrup? I know a lot of people in Canada are probably thinking the same thing, so I thought I’d share with you! It’s always good to mix things up!

crepes-sugar-limes

I use the “Joy of Cooking” to make crepes since it is SUPER easy.

Mix it up in a blender or by hand:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup lukewarm water
  • 1/4 cup of butter, melted
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons sugar

Let it stand for at least 30 minutes

Heat a non-stick skillet at medium heat and add a bit of butter

Pour about 1/4 cup of batter into the skillet and flip with spatula or your hand once the batter starts bubbling or browning

Sprinkle a bit of sugar and add some fresh lime juice

Enjoy!

Let me know if you give sugar & lime a shot for your next crepes! Do you have any other delicious toppings/fillings for your crepes?

xoxo Brianne

 

Leave a Reply

